Whitefish Review Literary Journal, Whitefish, Montana
Next reading period:  

Aug 1 - Oct 1
Issue #16
Winter 2014/15

 

order WF Review

    subscriptions

    single copies

submit

donate

book reviews

about WF Review

    press

    editors

    supporters

    where to buy


QUESTIONS?
Brian Schott
406.261.6190
brian@whitefishreview.org

March 15, 2014   

Submission period for Issue #15—The Fire Issue is CLOSED.

As usual, we sure have a lot of irons in the fire as this issue takes form. Thank you to all who submitted pieces for the Fire Issue. We are honored to review your work.

Stay tuned for launch event date and featured author information.



March 1, 2014   

Two more weeks for submissions to the Fire Issue.





January 10, 2014   

Flame on!

It's our 15th issue and fire is the name of the game.

Read more about the Fire Issue...



January 1, 2014   

Happy New Year!

Summer 2014 theme will be announced January 10.

Submission period will open January 15.




order online



November 2, 2013   

Thank you to all who submitted pieces for Issue #14—The Hunger Issue.

Our editors and readers are hard at work evaluating your pieces.



August 15, 2013   

starvation • famine • longing • yearning • craving

Here we go! We have a theme—hunger. Give us the best of your hungry moments for Issue #14.



May 22, 2013   

Save the date! Lucky #13 Launch Party

Friday · June 7 · 7-10 PM · The Lodge at Whitefish Lake
An Evening with Pam Houston

(Issue #13 guest editor & featured author)
1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, Montana
$10 suggested entry donation

  7 PM · Cocktail hour begins on the shores of Whitefish Lake

  8 PM · Readings begin!
  Chrysti the Wordsmith, young poet Annika Gordon, author Shann Ray
  Pam Houston will read from her new book, Contents May Have Shifted

  9 PM · Q&A with the authors
  moderated by Montana Public Radio's Chérie Newman with book signings to follow

Thank you to our sponsors: Montana Arts Council, Whitefish Community Foundation, Jest Gallery, Whitefish Mountain Resort, Good Medicine Lodge, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake & the wonderful donors of Whitefish Review



April 19, 2013   

The editors are hard at work reviewing the 600+ submissions for Issue #13. Thank you to all who submitted. We'll keep you posted.



March 17, 2013   

What luck!

• The submission period closed with 585 submissions for our crew to review!
• Issue #13 launch is on for June 7, 2013 at The Lodge at Whitefish Lake.
• Pam Houston will read at the launch bestowing her wisdom of luck on all of us.



February 13, 2013   

Have you listened to Reflections West yet?
It's a weekly radio program that presents the thoughts of writers and scholars on the American West. These thinkers pair their own thoughts with a passage from literature and history.

Reflections West can be heard on:
Montana Public Radio
each Tuesday @ 8:30 pm & Wednesday @ 3:55pm

and

Yellowstone Public Radio
each Thursday @ 7:01 pm

or

Subscribe to the podcast of Reflections West.
iTunes  RSS



January 31, 2013   

New to Whitefish Review: Book Reviews!

This new section of Whitefish Review contains book reviews, interviews with authors and a growing archive of previously published pieces.



January 1, 2013   

Happy 2013!

"For last year's words belong to last year's language. And next year's words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning." – T.S. Eliot

Reading period for Lucky No. 13—Summer 2013
is OPEN. In this issue we'll explore luck—both good and bad. Superstitions. The one leftover or left out... (read more)

Resolve to submit.

Submission Guidlines & Submit Online



December 12, 2012   

Gearing up for the Issue #12 Launch Party:

Thurs · Dec 13 · 7-11 PM · at Casey's
Rick Bass & Stellarondo perform

101 Central Ave, Whitefish, Montana

  · 5 PM · Dinner specials, main floor

  · 7 PM · Art show, journal release, raffle, floor 2
    Win a Whitefish Mtn Resort season pass & more

  · 8 PM · Show starts!
    $10 suggested entry donation
    Experience the magic of fiction & music fusion—the scored story.

  · 9 PM · Sweet Peaks treat
    Have your new issue signed by Rick Bass

  · until 11 PM · DJ Keishie

Thank you to our sponsors: Montana Arts Council, Whitefish Community Foundation, Casey's Pub & Grill, Jest Gallery, Good Medicine Lodge, The Naked Noodle, Whitefish Mountain Resort

Dec 13 | Rick Bass & Stellarondo | @ Casey's



Want the Whitefish Review to be in your hands right after it's released?

    Get a subscription
.



Stay up-to-date with Whitefish Review
Facebook.



October 15, 2012   

Today = Deadline, #12—Beneath the Surface.

Submission guidelines
OR
The Rick Bass/ Montana Prize for Fiction



September 18, 2012   

New Pages published a glowing review of Whitefish Review, Issue #11- The Wild Issue.
Read it HERE.



August 22, 2012   

Whitefish Review has announced The Rick Bass/ Montana Prize for Fiction. The contest offers $1000 prize and publication in Issue #12.




Legendary author Rick Bass will serve as the guest editor for Winter 2012/2013, Issue #12. Rick will also judge our first fiction contest. Among the fresh work to be unearthed, a new essay by Rick will serve as the rock to anchor our newest literary treasure.

Whitefish Review is seeking submissions that will light a literary fire... Submission Guidelines

Please join us as we continue the adventure! More surprises to come!

 





The Hunger Issue—#14
edited by Matt Holloway
(current issue)
Order the Whitefish Review Online

 
Order Previous Issues